Posted in Desserts, Recipes

Smore’s Pie

IMG_2022

I grew up going on camping trips with my family and have always loved camping. Lucky me, I found a husband who enjoys the outdoors and camping too! When I saw this recipe for a S’more Pie I knew I had to try it :D

I adapted this recipe from http://cookiesandcups.com/big-girl-smores-pie/. Pretty much whenever I make a pie or quiche I use my mom’s “no roll crust” – it’s so quick and easy! You can even mix it right in the pie plate! (aka one less dish to wash) I also forgot to pick up graham crackers at the store while I was getting Hershey bars and marshmallow fluff, my bad! So I scrounged our pantry and thought pretzels might work. They actually tasted delicious! It gave the pie a little salty/sweet mix :)

First I started with the no-roll crust rather than what the recipe calls for. I doubled the recipe and mixed it in a separate bowl as this pie has a top and bottom crust so mixing it right in the pie plate wouldn’t work as well. The no-roll crust didn’t save me a dirty dish this time, oh well! I split the dough in half and pressed one half into the pie plate.

Next spread the tub of marshmallow fluff on top of the crust. I’m pretty sure I haven’t had marshmallow fluff since the 3rd grade. SO tasty!

IMG_2013

Now comes the chocolate! The best part. I broke up the Hershey bars and set them on top of the fluff. The recipe calls for 6 bars, but I only used 4 and it was plenty!

IMG_2015

I took the 2nd half of my crust and pressed it out into a ring on a cutting board (no-roll crust doesn’t exactly roll, pressing/forming works better). I transferred the flattened dough onto the pie and pinched the edges.

IMG_2017

Bake for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven and enjoy the oooy goooey goodness!

Yummmmmm! :) Definitely making this again!! All you need now is a crackling fire on a cool night!

Let me know what you think!

Smore’s Pie Recipe

Ingredients

  • 6 Regular sized Hershey Bars, broken into pieces
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs (I used pretzels)
  • 1 7oz tub of Marshmallow Fluff
  • No Roll Crust

OR

  • 3/4 cup white sugar (OR no roll crust recipe)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup salted butter (1 stick), room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Spray a 9″ pie pan with baking spray.
  • Make no roll crust and decide into two halves
  • Evenly spread the Marshmallow Fluff over the bottom crust
  • Now spread the broken chocolate pieces on top of the Marshmallow Creme.
  • Press the other half of dough round and lay on top of pie
  • Pinch the dough together to form the crust.
  • Bake 20 minutes until lightly browned.

No Roll Crust Recipe (double recipe if pie has a top and bottom)

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 c. Flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp. Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 c. Oil
  • 2 tbsp Milk

Directions

  • Add all ingredients to pie plate
  • Mix! (easier to use hands)
  • Bake per specific pie recipe

Leave a comment